Why I Chose to Study Abroad

When studying abroad, you not only continue to learn from your uni studies, but you also learn about different cultures and languages from around the world through making friends and through experiencing a different way of life in a different country. I personally have made friends with people from America, Mexico, Spain, Germany, Switzerland, Denmark and even Australia!

Not only this, but you also have the opportunity to travel in your holidays. I have just come back from Bali in Indonesia which is relatively close to Australia, however the culture is completely different. I loved my experience there and learnt a lot just from spending 11 days in the country. I would definitely like to travel more of Asia in the future.

I also had the opportunity to take a module called Introduction to Australian Society at my university in Melbourne; this consisted of learning about Australian history as well as their culture today and where it came from. This was particularly special, because I would have not had the opportunity to take a module like this at home whilst experiencing and seeing it for myself in the country, which therefore gave me the opportunity to expand my knowledge on something that is interesting to me.

Although it is important, it needs to be remembered that studying abroad is not all about learning new things at your new university, but also from the people you experience it with and your surroundings!

Leave a Reply

