My top 5 inspirations

This post is a very personal post for me, and while writing it I learnt a lot about myself as a person and it also helped me appreciate the people in my life, who have helped and inspired me in my life. I am more of a family/ friend orientated person, so most of my inspirations come from my family and friends rather than public figures. So here is my post on my top 5 inspirations!

1. My Mother

mum

There is just no way I could have put anyone else first on this post! My mother has been an inspiration all throughout my life. Growing up, I never realised the impact my mother had on my life and how much I look to her as my inspiration. It was only when I came to university did I realise this and this realisation came immediately on my first night away from home. Even though this is my third year away from home, I never have to feel away from my mother, she is always just a phone call away and is constantly there as support and inspiration for the moments where I feel that I can’t do something, whether it be an exam or a job interview, she’s always there to lift my spirits and give me the confidence to go on.

2. Riska

riska

It was the second term of my first year when I met this amazing person and although she was only with me for two terms, even now going into my final year I have always thought of her as a source of inspiration. The thing about Riska is that she is possibly the most positive and friendly person I have ever met. Now, I wouldn’t call myself negative and unfriendly, but I was always someone who let the little downs in life get to me. But Riska, with her warmth and happiness, taught me to not let those things get to me as much and she taught me to grab those happy moments I get in life and to hold on to them. It is because of Riska that I am a happier person and whenever I feel down I think about her and then I smile.

3. A quote by Winston Churchill

‘We shall draw from the heart of suffering itself the means of inspiration and survival’

Although the people in my life play a massive part in terms of inspiration, this quote has particularly helped me since I was around 15. It is the quote that I always have stuck up somewhere in my room, whether it’s in my bedroom at home, or in any of the rooms I’ve had at university. I’m not sure completely why it’s this particular quote that I have kept with me over these years, but I’ve always found it very powerful, and it’s something I always rely on whenever I  go through a difficult time.

4. Lewis

lewis

The bond I have with this guy is like no other bond I have with anyone else. He is one of my biggest inspirations and he is the person that has helped me develop the most over my uni years- not that he realises this! When I first met Lewis it was within the first couple of weeks of first year, he was incredibly awkward and came off as really shy. He never spoke much and he smiled even less. Amongst all the people I met, he was the one I could really relate to, because I was probably even more awkward and shy than he was. Now in our final year he is the President of the History Society and a Senior Student Ambassador and I could not be more proud or more inspired by him. It’s because of him that I have the confidence to go out there and talk to people first, rather than sit back and wait for someone else to make the first move and from this I have been able to make some amazing friends, because I was confident enough to go up to someone and say hi.

5. My Asian Soc

So when I first knew I was going to university, I promised myself that I was going to make friends. I’m a painfully shy person and I tend to  retreat when it comes to meeting new people, but I wanted that all to change and it did in my first year- I made some great friends! But after first year, I seemed to settle in that group of friends and never even try and meet new people. This carried on all throughout my second year, but it was at the start of my final year where I decided to make a change. I saw an opportunity to join the newly ratified Asian Society exec team and I took it. I will always be grateful to my amazing friend/flatmate Labeeba (the girl next to me in the picture) for helping me make that leap. These wonderful people have inspired me to meet new people and put myself out there and mingle at our social events. They have also given me some wonderful new experiences, like celebrating my first Diwali and learning how to dance for the event itself!

 

So there we go! That was my list of my top 5 inspirations, and I am grateful to each and every one of those inspirations for being in my life and helping me to become the person I am today. Now it’s your turn! I would love to know more about you so COMMENT BELOW WITH ONE OR MORE OF YOUR INSPIRATIONS! Tell me who or what the inspiration is and how they inspire you. Looking forward to reading about your inspirations!

 

Leave a Reply

