Revision Tips

Some of you may already be at university here at Essex, or at another university for that matter! Whilst others reading this may be just getting into their year of studying for A Levels. Whatever level you’re currently studying at, revision will be a massive part of your lives over the next few months!

My top tip when it comes to revision is: don’t leave it to the very last minute! I know we’ve all probably been there and done it, (I know I certainly have…oops!), but it’s important that you try your best not to get stuck in this position now.

 

As Benjamin Franklin once wrote, ‘by failing to prepare you are preparing to fail’.

Now, hopefully none of you will be failing anything over the course of the next few months, but read on to make sure you’re doing all you can in terms of revision to get yourself prepared for those all important exams!

I’ve recently started tutoring students in both English Literature and Language and as a requirement I’ve had to learn about the different types of learners that I might come across. This is simply so I can distinguish what type of learner my student is and from this I can plan lesson content in such a way that they will get the best out of it. This may seem completely irrelevant to you guys, but I found it very interesting and so I took some time myself to find out what type of learner I am. I would really suggest giving this a go at home guys, as it really will inform the best revision techniques for you and hopefully it will help you to get the best out of your revision!

0fb5_3ab7

My Personal Top Tips: 

FLASHCARDS

Being a visual learner, these little cards work like magic for me. I use them to record key dates, key names or key ideas that are important for me to remember for my exam. Then, I look over them multiple times a day until the image and idea sticks in my head. It sounds simple, but this really works well for me.

COLOUR CODING

Highlighting and colour coding your notes can really help to break down massive chunks of writing that you probably anxiously scribbled down in a rush, before the Lecturer changed the slide within 2 seconds! Make sure you’re going over and rereading your notes and picking out the most important sections for you.

Highlight.jpg

POSTERS

I’m the kind of person that will draw tonnes of different posters, usually one for each topic and then cover my bedroom walls with them. Just being able to visualise my notes and seeing these posters every day helps me to expand my knowledge on the topics.

TIMING

You’ll find that some people around you will seclude themselves in the library for hours on end, trying to cram every last piece of information into their heads. Trust me, this is definitely not the most efficient way for you to be revising. Find an amount of time that will maximise the amount of work you can get done. For example, I find that working in hourly slots works well for me, because after an hour of intense work, my brain tends to switch off and I start to become distracted. When you find yourself at this point, get up and take a break. Make sure you’re moving away from your revision environment too. Go and make yourself a drink or get some food, watch 15 minutes of television, or even go and take a quick 10 minute stroll. This will really maximise the way you work, because when you come back into your revision environment, your brain will be refocused and ready to work!

Timing-is-everything-2

There are tonnes of helpful tips across the internet on how best to revise, and I hope this post has helped you in some way! But the best piece of advice I can offer you is find out what ways you work best as an individual, and do your own thing to get it done!

Good luck!

 

 

Leave a Reply

