New Year, New Term

It’s the beginning of the spring term for most of us (however numerous students have just sat their first round of exams).  I always prefer this term as I’m more motivated to study after the Christmas break and the weather will FINALLY start getting better again…I hope.

As a final year student I’m quite stressed about the term I have to come, as I will be submitting my dissertation as well as an essay for my coursework only module – both of which add up to half of my final year mark!

How is it possible to make this term the best term for your studies?

  1. Start small – make little ‘goals’ for yourself to complete. For me this would be ensuring I write up my lecture notes the day of the lecture instead of leaving it until the end of term and realising my notes don’t make sense.image1
  2. Start revision EARLY – I’m not saying you should try to complete all your revision notes this term but it’s important to ensure all of your lecture notes have been written up neatly so that when revision season starts you’re very prepared and Easter break is actually a break and not a hectic month of trying to organise yourself.23718983576_ddaafeed7c_n
  3. Attend all your lectures – I’m sure many of you already do this, but spring term/2016 is a clean slate, so try and start well by creating good habits for the new year.  Once you miss one lecture it can become very tempting to miss others.23647072506_318c6d86b8_h
  4. Try and get some exercise – this seems like a strange thing to suggest when talking about studies, however exercise can help you to feel more alert when studying and personally I find that after I’ve completed exercise I can concentrate on work much  more easily.  It’s also good for your overall well being and may help beat ‘winter blues’21651569209_8a5ebda22f_h
  5. Try to eat well – when studying in can be quite easy to forget about meal time or just consume snacks instead of a substantial meal.  Not only is it good for you to eat regular nutritious meals, it’s also good for your brain (particularly oily fish which contains omega 3).  When we consume sugary snacks/drinks it gives the feeling of energy for a very small period, so initially it may feel easier to concentrate, but this feeling won’t last for long!  Slow release carbohydrates such as bread, pasta, potatoes, cereal etc. are good, as they release the energy over a much longer period of time, so make a good alternative to sugary snacks and drinks.

Hopefully you will find this post useful and possibly use it to motivate yourself to try your best this term!  I hope you’ve all had an amazing Christmas break and have a productive spring term!

Leave a Reply

