Winter warmers: Quick tasty recipes

For me, winter is when I am most lazy. I just want to stay wrapped up and cosy in my room!The last thing I want is to spend hours in my cold kitchen making something to eat, but I also want something warm and comforting to eat too. So today I thought I would share with you three of my quick and easy recipes that I make all the time during the winter months.

  1. Chicken chow mein stir-fry 

received_10204673076494758

Stir-fry is amazing because it is quick and really easy to change up. You can have chicken, beef, prawns, tofu and a range of other things, you can change the vegetable to your liking and can use a range of different sauces (my favourites are chow mein and hoisin). You can even serve it with a range of other sides, for me I love serving my stir-fry with duck spring rolls, a hoisin dip and prawn crackers. Remember, you can adapt this recipe below to your liking!

Ingredients 

1 tbsp oil

1 sachet chow mein stir-fry sauce

2 chicken breasts, diced

1 packet straight to wok noodles

1 packet stir fry vegetables

Optional- duck spring rolls, prawn crackers and hoisin dip

Methods

Stir fry chicken for 3-5 minutes and then add the veg and fry until fully cooked.

Then add the sauce and stir to coat the veg and chicken

Then add the noodles and stir-fry for another 2-3 minutes

Serve and enjoy!

 

2. Enchiladas 

IMG_20150705_165522

This is seriously my absolute favourite comfort food ever. I’d like to believe I’m famous among my circle of friends for my enchilada dinner parties and they do seem to be a hit! Now, there are two ways of doing this, depending on the time and effort you want to put in. You can either separately purchase the ingredients, or buy an enchilada kit with some chicken and grated cheese and you are set. I will be honest, I do tend to use the latter a lot more, but I do have my days when I buy the ingredients separately, so it feels like I’ve put more effort in. Considering there is currently an offer in Tesco and the kits are only £2, I know what I’m stocking up on!

Ingredients

2 tbsp oil

500g chicken, diced

250g grated cheese

8 tortilla wraps

enchilada seasoning

enchilada tomato sauce

Methods

preheat the oven to 200 degrees or gas mark 6

Add the oil to a frying pan and fry chicken until mostly cooked

Then put sauce, seasoning and 150 ml water in a measuring jug and stir

Pour half the sauce into the pan with the chicken and allow to simmer for a few minutes

Then add a bit of the chicken mixture to each tortilla wrap and roll up and place lined up next to each other on an oven tray

Pour the rest of the sauce and sprinkle the grated cheese on top

Cook in the oven for 8-10 minutes until the wrap is slightly brown

Serve nice and warm and cheesy!

3. Stuffed chicken wrapped in bacon 

1417288274263

This is one of those dishes that take minimal effort, but tends to really impress anyone who sees it! I personally like to serve it with some mixed veg on the side, because I’ve found that potato sides are a bit too much and make the meal really heavy, whereas vegetables do wonders for health!

Ingredients

Two chicken breasts

4 slices of bacon

1 red pepper diced

Two spoons of mixed herb cream cheese

Frozen mixed vegetables

Methods

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees/ Gas Mark 6

Turn the chicken breasts over and make a small pocket in the chicken, by slowly making an incision with a sharp knife, don’t slice through the chicken – stop halfway and you will have a pocket.

Fill the pocket with diced red pepper and herb cream cheese

Lay down two slices of bacon and line them up next to each other

Roll the chicken so the bacon is covering it, and then place on the oven tray

Repeat for the second chicken breast

Cook in the oven for between 20-30 minutes, or until you can see the chicken is cooked

10 minutes before the chicken has finished cooking boil your vegetables

Enjoy!

So these were three of my quick and easy winter recipes, do you have any that you want to share? If so then please comment below with your quick and easy winter warmers and I will definitely try them out! 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

