My First Scuba Diving and Skydiving Experience

Hi again!

Throughout January I was travelling the East Coast of Australia with a group of 10 people that are also all studying in Oz. We  rented two cars and went over a space of three and a half weeks.

The thing that most stood out to me was scuba diving at the Great Barrier Reef, which I was very nervous about, but it was amazing! I ended up loving it and would definitely do it again.

We went on a boat trip from Cairns and they provided all of the equipment for snorkelling and diving. I have never scuba dived before, but they taught us everything we needed to know for the dive. We learnt some basic skills under water and then we were ready to go. There were loads of fish I’d never seen before, such as clownfish, and we also saw a huge clam! The coral was amazing, but we had to be careful where we stood and what we touched as the Great Barrier Reef is slowly dying out. It is one of the seven wonders of the world so I am really glad that I got the chance to go!

We also went skydiving at Mission Beach. I was actually less nervous than I was for the scuba dive. We woke up very early in the morning to do it and everyone was really nervous! Once we got kitted up we went up in the plane and could see how high we were getting. Before we knew it, we were jumping out of the plane. It was an amazing experience and we got to see some cool things from up above. It was a strange feeling, but was no where near as scary as I thought it would be!

I can’t believe how amazing this experience has been so far, you should definitely try it too!

Leave a Reply

