The best thing about leaving home to come to Uni

Making the leap from living full time at home to then going to live at uni is both terrifying and exciting at the same time. Many of you may be considering whether it is worth leaving home to come to uni, so I thought I’d share with you all what has been for me, one of the best things about moving away from my home in Surrey, to come to the University of Essex.

map

For me, the best thing about leaving home to come to university has been the independence. Don’t get me wrong, it is not easy at times, and if ever I am curled up in bed with a cold I am wishing I was back home being pampered by my mother! However, on the whole, the independence that university gives you is amazing.  It has allowed me to grow as a person and learn a range of different skills, the most fun skill being learning how to cook!

The second most important thing I have learnt while at uni is managing my money. Before I came to uni, I had no concept of the value of money, I didn’t think before spending at all. You may think that doesn’t sound like a bad thing, but since I started at uni I’ve learnt how to balance my spending and I use my loan for rent and the essentials, and the money I earn from my part-time jobs to treat myself! I have found this works really well, as I don’t feel guilty buying something nice for myself because I know that I’m paying for it with the money I have earned. That might not sound like much fun, but when you come to owning your own house/car etc. when you’re older, money management is essential!

Finally, the third best thing about coming to uni is learning how brave I can be. No matter how scary that first day feels when your family have left and its just you on your own, it is so satisfying knowing that I have been able to make friends, look after myself, and survive without anyone doing stuff for me or running around after me! It is a brave move to make, but knowing that these three years are all yours to make the most of is a great confidence boost.

The independence and life skills I have learned during my three years living away from home at uni has been invaluable and, for me, it is the best thing about leaving home to come to uni. It has been a challenge at times, but most definitely one of the most rewarding things I’ve done!

Leave a Reply

