A typical meal plan for a student on a budget

Hello! I am back with another post and this time its on how a day typically looks for me in terms of food.

As a final-year student, it can be quite hard sometimes to be able to eat healthily but also save some cash. I hope you can take some inspiration from these meal suggestions and remember you do not have to use the exact ingredients that I have. The great thing about food and cooking is that you can always make it your own and it will just taste just as delicious.

Breakfast: I am not a health expert, but I do notice when I eat well for breakfast that I have more energy throughout the day and that I am not completely starved until lunch time.  For me, a piece of fruit and some porridge is enough to fill me up and start the day on the right foot.

Porridge and Fruit

Snack: Usually around 11am I get in the mood for something sweet. For a quick snack, some fruit and a bit of dark chocolate satisfies my sweet cravings for the day.Blueberries and Raspberries

Lunch:  Most of the time, a quick salad is something that I go for, because  it takes a few minutes to prepare and I can just use any leftovers that I may have laying around the fridge to add to it. For a simple antipasti salad you will need:

  • salad leaves
  • 5-6 mini tomatoes
  • 1 red pepper
  • black olives (alternatives: roasted peppers, marinated artichokes)
  • feta cheese (mozarella or tofu also works)
  • crunch factor: 1 toasted slice of bread cut in cubes (or toasted pine nuts)
  • 2 prosciutto slices (alternatives: smoked salmon, any leftover grilled chicken, tofu etc. )
  • 1/4 red onion thinly sliced
  • 1/2 can of rinsed kidney beans (chickpeas or any other beans also work)

Place all of the ingredients in a bowl and give them a quick mix. For a yummy dressing: 2 tbsp of olive oil, 1/2 lemon juice, salt and pepper all mixed together. Add the dressing on the salad and serve.Antipasti Salad

Snack: In the afternoon, sometimes I get a little bit hungry again, but I don’t feel like having an entire meal. My top suggestion is to have some toast with perhaps a smashed avocado on top, or a little bit of hummus and as many veggies as you like.

Avocado on Toast

Dinner: The following recipe that I am going to share with you is so delicious and yet so easy to make. What I like to do is make a big batch on Sunday for instance and then I do not have to worry about what to make for at least a couple of days, because I am sorted with either lunch or dinner.

Filled Pastry Boats

  • 1 pack of rolled pastry
  • 1 pack of mozzarella (or any other cheese that you like)
  • veggies (peppers, zucchini, red onions, some olives)
  • protein factor (leftover grilled chicken breast, smoked salmon slices etc)

For these filled pastry boats, at least that is what I like to call them, all you need to do is cut your pastry into squares. I found that cutting the pastry into 6 squares makes for the perfect pastry boat.

Next, you have to cut your vegetables into bite size pieces and start to cook your chicken/fish. The next step is to fill each one of the squares with all of the remaining ingredients and add the cheese on top (this acts like a binding agent to keep everything together).  I took a picture while I was preparing mine just so that it is easier to see the whole process:

Process of filling the Pastry BoatsAfter you have pinched the edges together for each square together, place them in the oven at 180 ° C for about 22-25 minutes, or until golden brown.

Remember that eating well during your studies is very important – it does not need to be overly complicated. You can prepare some things in advance like the filled pastry boats and that will help you save time and money.

Bon Appétit!

Leave a Reply

