Things to do when you need to relax

It’s no secret that university can be stressful, especially when the exam period comes around. I have 8 exams coming up over the next few weeks and so, unfortunately, stress is never far away from me. But I feel like (for the moment at least) I am dealing with the stress and managing to relax every now and again. So, here are my tips on things you can do, or places you can go when you need to relax.

Exercise

I’ll admit I’m not one to go to the gym, but going for a jog or doing some yoga is a great way to clear your mind. Exercise will increase your serotonin levels and give you a lovely boost of happiness when you’re stressed. Try doing ten minutes of exercise in the morning to wake you up and help you battle the stress.

Go for a walk

Just going outside and getting some air can be a good way to relax. I would recommend going somewhere with a bit of greenery so it is more peaceful. If you’re around campus, then walking around the lakes or near Wivenhoe House should clear your head. If you feel like going further afield then Highwoods Country Park has a mix of woodland, open spaces, meadows, a lake and a pond.

Take the 61 from the University all the way up to Turner Road then get off at the second stop and Highwoods Country Park will be on your right.

Highwoods.png

Cook

Cooking can be a relaxing experience, as it takes your mind off of what is stressing you out. If you’re revising then making sure you are eating properly can be difficult, so take a look at this post if you would like some cheap but healthy recipe ideas.

Clean up

Make sure you’re not feeling stressed because you’re surrounded by mess. I know that I feel most stressed when I have my revision notes strewn all over my flat. So, even though it can seem like piling more stress on yourself to clean up, just spend 10 minutes to make your surroundings a little more relaxing. You can put on your favourite music to make you feel a bit more motivated and to speed up the cleaning.

pots-716579_1920.jpg

Reward yourself

Sometimes when I am really stressed I just need to get into bed and watch a film. I know this is easier said than done when you have a lot of work to do, but make sure to reward yourself after a long day working. Whether that is watching a film in bed, going shopping or heading to the pub, it’s up to you.

Go visit family or friends

Spend a day with family or friends to allow yourself time off and time to relax. Sometimes home cooking or a meal out can be a great treat and can help take your mind off anything that is stressing you out, even if it is just for a few hours.

 

Good luck combating any stress you have at the moment, remember to give yourself a break every now and again!

Leave a Reply

