The Benefits of Going to a Campus University

Although it was a while ago now, I can remember when I attended all the open days for different universities and was pondering the important question “would I prefer a campus based university or city university?”.  After visiting both types it was clear to me that I would much prefer a campus, due to the friendlier atmosphere and how close everything is (not that my laziness has anything to do with it..!)

I’ve complied a small list containing a few (of the many) reasons why I think it’s great to go to a campus university:

  1. Everything is closer together – no having to wake up at 6 am to get to your 9 am lecture (well, you could if you really wanted to)! At the University of Essex, the majority of our accommodation is a five minute walk away from the central campus, which is great if you love a lie in…and don’t want to look like this guy!Sleep
  2. It’s harder to get ‘lost in the crowd’ – what I mean by this is there are a lot of job opportunities available to students who want them and you’re competing with far less students for different roles. Not only that, but they are advertised EVERYWHERE, so you are far less likely to miss out on great working and internship opportunities. (Below you can see some of our students on their volunteering abroad placement in Tanzania).volunteer abroad
  3. Our Students’ Unions tend to be better (especially ours!) – okay, so Colchester isn’t exactly a cool city like London, but to compensate for this our students’ union makes sure there’s lots going on all the time so students have things to do whilst they’re here.  So how is this better?  Well, everyone involved in these activities are fellow students, so you quickly begin to make a lot of friends of similar ages and interests.SU
  4. SAFETY – this one is SUPER important!  When I’m on campus I feel like I’m in a bubble, this is because of all of the security and support we have available on campus.  I know that if I ever felt unsafe, I could easily call the campus security, who are on patrol 24 hours a day, every single day of the year (even including the vacation periods).  As well as that, there are lots of support services on campus, so I know there’s always someone to talk to should I ever feel a bit under the weather.Security
  5. Jobs – for those of you that have read some of my other posts, you will know I talk about this a lot, but on our campus there are soooo many job opportunities, which is something city university’s can’t offer on the same scale (i.e. student to job ratio).  This is great because student jobs are much better than ordinary jobs, because they priorities your studies and are much more flexible in terms of hours and vacation periods.50 pound sterling bank notes closeup view business background

So they are my key points on the matter, but I could honestly go on all day!  The best advice I can give is to find out for yourself by attending open days to find out what will suit you best 🙂

P.S. we have our own campus cat…

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

