Why Essex feels like home and what I’m going to miss the most about it!

In preparation for my upcoming year abroad in a few months’ time, I recently attended the yearly pre-departure conference for all students going away. The conference was a really good opportunity to find out stuff about being safe abroad and meeting people who are also going to the same University as me.

yab conference

A picture of everyone at the pre-departure conference for year abroad students!

This made me realise about how much of a great time I’m going to have and that I can’t wait to embark on what will hopefully be a brilliant adventure!

However, it also got me thinking about what I’m leaving behind at Essex and how settled I feel here at University! For the past year and a half, I’ve had such a great time at Essex and it’ll be sad to go for a while!

Here’s the things which I’ll probably miss the most about the place…

 

The Campus!

One of my favourite things about the Colchester Campus is its atmosphere! It’s so friendly and intimate that it feels like I’m back home, where I live in a tiny village! You see people that you know all the time, whether it’s just to say hi or have a conversation with them; it’s hard to walk to your classes and not talk to or see anyone that you know!

christmas fayre

The Squares during the annual “Winter Fayre”, organised by the Societies Guild

Also, we always have something going on at the main hub of the University campus -the Squares! Not only is this a place where you’re likely to cross pass with your friends, you’re also likely to see something really cool going on! Whether it’s our market on a Thursday, a society doing a flash mob, or the Christian society singing, the likelihood is that there will be something that will turn your head!

The people!

I know this could happen at literally any University, but the people that I’ve met at Essex have had a real impact on me (in a good way!) The people in my classes, my society and the people that I’ve lived with, have all made my life at Essex completely worthwhile and made me have a great time!

perry friends

Me with just some of my friends who I’ll miss during my year abroad!

To be honest, I was quite apprehensive about doing a year abroad, as I would not only be leaving all of these people behind but I would also have to study for an extra year without them being there! However at the end of the day, I didn’t want to lose out on taking advantage of such a fantastic opportunity!

The Theatre!

Being a Drama student, the Lakeside Theatre is, for me, my little gem of campus! Whether it’s seeing a production or working on something in there, there’s very rarely a week goes by without me stepping in the doors of the Lakeside!

a number cast and crew

The cast and crew of “A Number”, a play which I produced at the Lakeside Theatre

I absolutely love going to see a theatre production most weeks and with £5 student tickets it’s hard to resist! I get to hang out with my friends and see something creative at the same time, which is a really nice way to relax after a long day’s studying!

All of these things make me happy to call myself a student at the University of Essex! I definitely feel at home whilst I’m at Essex, because I’m quite simply having a brilliant time here and I wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂

Leave a Reply

