My tips for making the most of your summer

We all know that the length of summer holidays we get when we’re at university are quite long; usually ranging from 3-4 months, I have heard so many friends that didn’t go to uni saying that being a student is easy. They may not see the late nights that I have spent in the Silberrad finishing a lab report, but I like to make the most of my long summers to prove to them that us students work hard (and we all have rent to pay right?!) So here are my tips on making the most of your summer and hopefully making some money along the way to help you  when that student loan you got in spring seems a million miles away.

cash-money-pounds_1767996b.jpg

Look for internships

An internship is a great way to make money and get experience that will help you find a job at the end of your degree. Last summer I did a Frontrunner placement in the Marketing and Student recruitment team at the University of Essex and that’s how I heard about becoming a blogger! Not only will you get paid, but Frontrunner internships include having meetings with your supervisors to talk about what skills you want to develop. This ensures you are learning skills that can really help you in your job search after uni. See my post on how to search for internships to see if there’s any you would be interested in.

Work as much as possible

Most students know the slog of going back home and doing bar work or stacking shelves to help get themselves out of their overdraft, or to help make it through to their next student loan. But summer work doesn’t always have to be like this. This summer I worked for the University of Essex as a Clearing assistant, originally I only got a one-week contract to answer the phones to prospective students during the busy clearing period. However, I was really happy when they invited me back to work for another week in the admissions department. During this time I learned how to do information requests, used the computer programme to accept and reject applicants and gained some really valuable administrative skills that I never would have thought I would have gained when I first applied for the job! So if you feel like you are stuck in a rut take a look at what other jobs are out there. CareerHub is a great place to look for work.

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 15.14.51.png

Start your reading for the next academic year

Now this is the one tip that won’t help pay the bills and, despite the fact that I’m sat right next to my dissertation reading, I can’t say I’ve even turned a page of any of it yet myself! But starting your reading now will give you more free time when you’re at uni. I’m starting a part time job in October,  so I plan to do as much reading as possible in September to stop me feeling overwhelmed when I have to balance studying and work. The more work you do over the summer, the less you have to do when you will no doubt have coursework and exams to also contend with.

url13.jpg

Although this post has been focused on working and earning money, it is of course a great idea to relax during the summer. You don’t want to burn yourself out and not have any time off between finishing your exams and starting term again. I am really excited to be going to Disneyland Paris in a couple of weeks with my friends and working over the summer has made that possible!

Feel free to share what you have been up to over the summer in the comments!

Leave a Reply

