My New Year’s Resolutions

First things first, take the title of the post with a pinch of salt. I have never been very good at making or sticking to New Year’s resolutions, although to be honest, I don’t think many of us are. Take the typical examples of eating healthier and going to the gym, these might actually be beneficial if we all stuck to them (and not just for January!) but for me these are things I really don’t think I would enjoy. I can count on my fingers the amount of times I’ve entered a gym in my lifetime! I want my resolutions to be more about what I enjoy and what makes me happy and then maybe, just maybe, we can tackle the gym thing after that! I don’t really want to think of the following list as things that I will definitely stick to, rather that they are just sort of things I want to try and do in 2017.

79ed99fd-9478-42b9-9362-0945742f6d2c

Read more books

I have always loved reading ever since I was little. I would sit and read for hours on end in my own world reading book after book. Although I do read a lot for my course, the books I have to read for my degree are not really what I want to relax with before bed! Recently I’ve become a person who just buys and hoards books with every intention of reading them, I just never get around to it. I have so many unread books, so hopefully 2017 will be the year that I finally read them all.

Keep in touch with people

I’m the first to admit that I’m terrible at keeping in touch with my friends from home and my friends from uni who I don’t see now I’m in America. I try to blame this on the fact that my friends are all over the world and it’s really hard to keep up with all the different time zones, although really it’s just me being lazy! I feel like this is especially important for when I go back to Essex for my final year (eeek!) and some of my friends have graduated. It won’t be as easy as just popping down to the SU bar for lunch anymore, I’ll actually have to make more of an effort!

Eat more food!

rainbow-bagel-recipe

I know the opposite of this one might be a more typical resolution, but why not go into the new year thinking of all the new culinary opportunities it will bring? Most years see their food fads (rainbow bagels, cronuts, freakshakes) but really this one is about trying new things. My friends and family know me as a notoriously fussy eater, I will admit that I don’t even like ketchup! Now I’ve been like this for a good 21 years and I don’t think I’ll be changing anytime soon, but I do want to try more food that I previously would have turned my nose up at.

Travel

Now I’m sort of cheating a bit on this one seeing as I have spent quite a bit of 2016 on my travels – I am on a year abroad after all! That, however, is no excuse not to visit new places. I would love to see more of Europe, which is particularly easy from our Colchester campus as Stansted airport is so close and offering cheap flights. Now all that’s left is convincing my friends to go on that spontaneous weekend away!

Explore where I live

This might seem a bit contradictory seeing as I’ve just said I want to travel, but there are so many things on our doorsteps to see that sometimes we don’t have to go to another country. Although it’s not the biggest town in the world, there’s plenty to see and do all over and around Colchester. After living there for two years, I don’t think I’ve made the most of it, so that’s what I’m going to do in 2017. There’s Colchester Zoo, Colchester Castle and the rest of Essex to explore. I’m slightly ashamed to say that the only other place I’ve been in Essex is Clacton!

filename-img-5009-jpg

So there you have it, those are my sort of New Year’s resolutions. What will yours be? Will or stick to mine or not? I guess there’s only one way to find out: bring on 2017!

Leave a Reply

