How I have spent my Christmas at uni

Ahhh, I still remember the day I had to bid farewell my hallmates as they returned home for the Christmas holidays. Back then I was partly happy knowing that I would have the flat all to myself and have all the peace and quiet in the world, but at the same time I knew I would miss the busy atmosphere that once governed the flat. Weirdly enough, staying on campus over Christmas wasn’t as gloomy as I expected it to be. So here are some of the activities that kept me busy over the break and that I fully recommend if you are ever far away from home:

I visited the Colchester Christmas Market

9r-_2gzp37k-mike-arney

Since I have never been to a Christmas Market before, I was curious to find out what it was really like here in the UK and oh boy, the amount of people I found there was ridiculous. I don’t think I have ever seen Colchester that packed! Everyone seemed to be so warm and welcoming. Everywhere you looked, you could see children running around and couples holding hands. Besides that, the Christmas market was as magical as I had imagined: bright lights, great food and loud carols. All of these made the atmosphere unforgettable, and, although I went to it by myself, I can’t say there was a moment when I felt alone.

I attended a Christmas party

dcpnzesy3yk-jennifer-pallian

Who says you need to be home to have a proper Christmas feast? I spent half of Christmas day cooking together with two of my best friends in one of the flats in South towers. The occasional mulled wine and Christmas playlist made us all forget, even though for a short time, how far we actually are from home. We laughed about all the dumb things we did this year and about how they brought us together, we watched cheesy movies and played computer games till the point we could barely stay awake.  I ate an insane amount of food and got the most random presents ever, but if I could go back and do it again I wouldn’t change a thing.

I had the library all to myself

Doing Psychology is not as easy as everyone thinks it is. With one test on the first Tuesday of second term and two more essays in the week that follows, you come to realise that the Christmas holiday is not all fun and games. With the library being pretty much empty for the entire Christmas break, I took advantage of this time to catch up with my notes and finish my assignments. The quiet and calm atmosphere, plus the amount of books available to me, led to me being more productive than I ever thought I’d be (I went through 670 pages of Stats in a week. If that’s not impressive, I don’t know what is!).

Remember everyone, Essex isn’t just for life…it’s for Christmas too!

One thought on “How I have spent my Christmas at uni

Leave a Reply

