Signs I’ve made the transition from student to traveller

Currently on my year abroad, I’ve been making the most of the Australian university summer holidays. In fact I’m coming to the end of a travelling trip lasting almost 2 and a half months!

During this once in a lifetime trip, I’ve noticed my slow transition from a student to a traveller.

Here are the signs that I’ve noticed that I’ve made the switch…

Making the most of samples at duty free.

Being low on space in my rucksack, I only have room for the essentials. This doesn’t include aftershave unfortunately… so a quick dash and a spray at duty free has been a must! In fact, if I had a pound for every time I sprayed myself with free samples from duty free, I might be close to actually affording a bottle! Actually probably not though on second thoughts…

Air conditioning is the one

Nobody likes a humid, hot room at night when it’s 30 degrees. Especially so in Fiji, we only had a small fan to cool 10 of us…Therefore, the sight of air conditioning now in a room is always a godsend!

The rush for a bottom bunk in a hostel is intense

Nobody likes top bunks. Fact. The ladders are annoying, it’s far away from all of your stuff and clamouring down for a wee in the night is a task in itself.  Therefore, the pursuit for a good bed in a room can be rife! The feeling of disappointment to find only top bunks left in a room is just heartbreaking it really is…

Free WiFi is your friend

Sitting in a cafe on the wifi with no intention of buying anything has suddenly become totally justified and normal. How else are you going to upload all your amazing new pictures to Instagram?!

Limited wardrobe

Like the aftershave, living out of a backpack means that space is always at a minimum. This means that the clothes you do have get used a lot and annoyingly they need washing a lot too…

Never being in the same place for very long.

The beauty of travelling is that if you don’t like one place then another is only a few days away at most.

Being in one place one day and another the next has become the norm.


Hope you’ve enjoyed reading about my transition from student to traveller. Keep a look out for more posts about my travels soon!

Leave a Reply

