From Essex with Love: Attending the University of Essex when you’re already from Essex

A lot of thought goes into choosing a university. There are simply so many options and scenarios to go through. I remember going to a UCAS convention whilst in sixth form and talking with different universities about what they had to offer then I ended up coming home with 47 prospectuses! (No word of a lie, I carried them home in four large bags that they were helpfully giving out.)

I spent a huge amount of time going through the daunting pile of information, all of which seemed to blur together after a while. I didn’t think that UCAS would have appreciated the suggestion to increase the application options from 5 to 30 (because yes I had managed to get it down but was still struggling!)

Struggling.jpg

Choosing where to go can be hard- Image courtesy of OdysseyOnline

Long story short, I finally managed to get my five choices: Essex, a London based uni, two in the midlands and one much further down south… obviously as you know from the fact that I’m writing a blog for the University of Essex, I ended up at Essex.

The thing is: I’m from Essex. I was born in Essex. Have lived all my life in Essex. And here I was applying to a university that was only 20 miles away, or three stops away on the train!

Some would think that this was too close for comfort, however the thing I learnt from that pile of prospectuses was that an “English Literature” degree can vary drastically from university to university- as is the case with most courses. Therefore not only did I have to like the university, I also needed to know what sort of things I was going to be taught and if this was what I was interested in.

23863522969_40f183ff41_oAmazingly, Essex offered this: a perfect, compacted campus; a community feeling; good facilities; and a course that taught that things that I was interested in. I could have gone hundreds of miles away but I can’t say that I would have been any happier with my choice.

The thing is many people get really excited at the prospect of moving away from home and therefore want to move as far away as possible. Evidently I found a uni I loved right on my doorstep. I lived there for the first year and then moved back home for second and third year.

My family didn’t interfere with my uni life- most people expect that they would visit all the time being that close. In truth, they have only seen the university twice: the first time was when I moved in and the second time was when I moved out. They know that university is my experience, my realm so to speak, so they would never try to turn up uninvited.

The point of my rambling is quite simply that I found my perfect uni a short distance away from me. Don’t be so quick to dismiss a university that is local to you; at the end of the day you want to make sure that you go to a university that feels like home, has that “vibe” that makes it feel right and does the course the way you want it to be. So near to home or a hundred miles away, it shouldn’t matter where the university is located as long as it works for you.

I’m from Essex and the University of Essex worked for me.

Leave a Reply

