Colchester’s hidden gems

I can’t believe it’s already been over a year since I first stepped foot in Colchester. I remember my first few days at uni, excited to explore every bit of the town. I don’t know about you, but I have always been the kind of person that loves to explore. So today I decided to give you a glimpse of the lesser-known things that I discovered and love about Colchester!

Aburi Japanese Restaurant

aburi

This hidden gem is definitely my favourite place to eat in Colchester. If you are into sushi, ramen or anything in between then this is the perfect place for you! I am usually very picky when it comes to sushi, but this place has never disappointed me. The atmosphere is also a very relaxing one. They usually have slow paced music playing in the background and the design of the place is simply stunning. That and the friendly members of staff make this place my ‘go to’ every time I feel the need to spoil myself a bit. My recommendation for you would be the ‘teriyaki bento box’ ( which has salmon and chicken). It is a very decent price and it tastes amazing!

Layer Marney Tower

layer-marney-tower-004

I could bet money that most of you have never heard of this place! Although not very known to the public, I feel like this place is immensely superior to the Castle Park castle. Built around 500 years ago, this place is the tallest Tudor Gatehouse in England. The 80ft tower is well worth the climb as it offers a spectacular view of the Essex countryside. Also, the gardens around the castle are superb, which is why I think this is such a great place to visit in the company of a loved one. So if you feel like escaping from the daily routine, go ahead and try a spontaneous afternoon visit to the Tower. You will not regret it!

Hollytrees Museum

museum

If you are a person who loves art, the museum is one of the perfect places for this! This Georgian townhouse features over 300 years of history through hands-on exhibits and displays. Most of the displays are in regards to what family life was like for the wealthy and the penniless in Georgian and Victorian Colchester. The thing that I enjoyed the most, though, was the fact that they offer costumes to the visitors and anyone can dress up as a servant. Just imagine seeing a museum filled with people roaming around in Victorian clothes talking in a very posh British accent. And if that wasn’t enough, they offer free entry to pretty much everything – so I highly recommend giving this place a go!

 

Leave a Reply

