The Essex student experience and how you can make the most of it

There are so many reasons why Essex has given me an amazing student experience, but here are just a few things available that can help your time here to be as good as you’d hoped!

  • The Clubs and Societies

This is a huge part of the Essex experience and the majority of students are signed up to at least one. From the Cheese and Wine Society to the Harry Potter Society, there are loads of societies to try out and get involved in – you may even surprise yourself with what you end up really enjoying! Meanwhile, sports clubs range from things like Ultimate Frisbee to Cheerleading, so there really is something for everyone. Whether you have played before,  or you want to try something completely new, clubs are open to all levels and abilities! Societies are currently £5 to join and it is completely free to join a sports club, so you might as well give something a go! Not only is this a great opportunity to try something totally new, joining clubs and societies is also the perfect way to make friends with similar interests to you – and what would your uni experience be without a huge group of friends to enjoy it with?!

sports.jpg

  • Jobs on campus

Whilst some people don’t really want extra work on top of their studies, earning extra pennies does help you in lots of other areas of student life. Whilst the thought of a job might turn your stomach now, the feeling of not having enough money for food or a night out with your friends is even worse, so it’s something to consider! In your first year you may not hear a lot about jobs on campus, however if you are interested I would recommend you looking online  before you arrive; the Employability and Careers centre is a good place to start! http://www.essex.ac.uk/life/facilities/careers.aspx.

The campus itself has a range of student jobs available; from Frontrunner positions, Student Ambassador roles, internships, bar staff jobs, to retail assistant jobs and many more! The applications for these generally open before the beginning of each term, however occasionally they pop up throughout the term too.

Not only does a job get you that much needed extra cash to do more fun things in your free time, you are also adding to your CV and therefore making yourself more employable. Essex has really helped to build my CV and now I am close to graduating I realise how much the jobs I’ve had here have helped me to develop my skills.

studentjobsbanner.jpg

  • Living in Student Accommodation

As I am from Chelmsford, I was able to live at home and commute to university. However, in my first year I chose to live on campus in South Courts and I am now living in North Towers for my final year. I am so glad that I didn’t just live at home throughout my time here! Living in accommodation introduced me to so many new friends, as well as helping me to become so much more independent. Living on campus means that you don’t miss out on the crazy stories or deep chats that only happen at 3am when you’ve just got back from Sub Zero; it means that you can form proper friendships and don’t have to plan in advance if you want to spend time together after a lecture! The awful cooking experiments, getting ready for a night out all together, and hanging out until the early hours of the morning are some of the best and most memorable times you will have at uni – they are not to be missed!

6510bcadcca0409f67bd53a23fcf8604.jpg

  • Sub Zero

Sub Zero is a big part of the Essex experience for many students. It is the club on campus that is generally open on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Sports Fed is a big event that takes place there every Wednesday and I feel like that has been a huge part of my experience at Essex. It is a great way to get away from studying, do some crazy dancing, and have a fun night with your friends.

sub-zero-300x300-166x166.png

  • Year Abroad

If it wasn’t for Essex I wouldn’t have been able to go to Australia on my year abroad. The Essex Abroad team were a great help and Essex offering free tuition for that year made it really affordable to go.

I can’t tell you how amazing and life-changing this experience is – just go and experience it for yourself! You’ll thank me later!

image.adapt.1663.medium.jpg

  • Being so international

With students from over 140 different countries studying at Essex, all students benefit from a really diverse environment. I have met people from all over the world, who I know I will stay in contact with and would love to visit in the future. It has made me more culturally aware and I have learnt a lot about different languages and different ways of living. Embracing this diversity just broadens your mind and your knowledge. My experience here at Essex wouldn’t have been the same and I would have never learnt so much about the world if it wasn’t for how wonderfully cultural the campus is.

10-hands-holding-globe-free-cliparts-that-you-can-download-to-you-4GDIBg-clipart.jpg

I could go on forever, but these are just a few things that make the Essex experience so great!

 

Leave a Reply

