​How did I end up at University?

After reading fellow blogger, Jordan’s post a little while back about his journey to University, it got me thinking…

How did I actually end up going to Uni?

Nobody in my family had been to University before and I could have easily chosen to do an apprenticeship or get a job following school.

In fact, I don’t think I can actually pinpoint a specific “magic moment” where I suddenly thought University is where I want to go.

For some reason, like many others, it just always seemed natural for me to study at University. I wasn’t 100% sure what I wanted to do with my life so I guess I also saw an opportunity to discover what I was passionate about and what I wasn’t, but if I had to give a definite reason then I think it would be the chance to live as a student. The adventure of moving away from home for the first time, to somewhere where there was a lot going on really appealed to me.  In particular, the opportunity to study Drama at a higher level and make use of the contacts University gives you sounded perfect.

Ultimately though, everybody has different reasons for coming University or perhaps giving it a miss. Whether it’s for a specific subject or for specific facilities, the prospect of university is often an exciting one.

But at the end of it all, it is your choice and not one which should be taken lightly.

Leave a Reply

