Pro and Cons of Commuting

giphy-20

Are you thinking of coming to Essex and wondering if commuting is for you? Or are you already an Essex student who doesn’t have a clue about living arrangements next year and deciding whether to commute? Well fear not because I am here to give you my pros and cons for commuting!

I commute everyday from Ipswich. I lived in towers in my first year, in Greenstead during my second, and for my final year I made the decision to commute. The biggest reason why I moved back home was for the home comforts because to quote Dorthy “there is no place like home”.

Pros of commuting

1. Home comforts: From being at uni, I have learnt I am a very homely person. When I was at uni I missed having the home comforts. I like coming home from work to my mums roast dinner, takeaway nights with my friends and only being round the corner from my boyfriend.

girls-1

2. Less responsibility: While living in a house in Greenstead we had a lot of responsibility. Sorting and managing bills, cleaning and general maintenance. We had many things go wrong which were really stressful to sort out. For example our toilet started leaking through the ceiling, our oven door broke and the handle fell off the bathroom door. I found it really stressful so for my final year I wanted it to be stress free. I am very lucky at home if something goes wrong my dad will sort it out! Good old dad.

giphy-22

3. Saving money: From doing a term of commuting I have saved money! Although my student loan has been reduced I have a lot less to pay out. While living in a house you have to pay out rent, water, gas, electric, wifi, tv license & food. While living at home I give my parents a bit towards everything and then pay for petrol to get to uni. I can also work more so I’m earning more money too.

4. Better work environment: I always really struggled to work in my room when living on campus. Someone was always playing loud music or constant doors banging. So if I wanted to get any work done I’d have to drag all my work to the library. Living at home means I can get my work done while drinking a cuppa and getting up to get any snacks I want!

Cons of commuting

1. Travelling: This is a big con. On a good day, it takes me 35 minutes to drive to uni. On a bad day it could take an hour. I get stuck in a traffic jam at least once a week! Once they closed a bridge near Ipswich and the whole of Ipswich went into meltdown and I got stuck for 3 hours on a dual carriageway 5 minutes from my house. How you’re getting to uni everyday is something you’ll need to consider and how much time it will take!

 

giphy (4).gif

2. Missing the university experience: I am glad I didn’t commute all 3 years because I made some great friends while living in towers. The one thing I miss is not being able to go out with them like I used to when I lived near campus! I will always cherish the memories I have made at uni!

44

3. No experience of independence: I think if you commute for all 3 years you will miss out on learning some important life skills. Learning how to look after yourself. Learning how to manage your money, learning how to cook proper meals and how to clean. I have come a long way from starting uni with only the knowledge of how to cook pasta, to becoming a spag bol master!

Commuting is personal choice. Some people will choose a uni close to home so they can commute while others will move to the other side of the country just to get away! It’s important to do what is best for you!

One thought on “Pro and Cons of Commuting

Leave a Reply

